Double Stuf

They say that stuff is not important
unless you stuff an empty belly.
You must love the stuff you’re given
but life is made of more than stuffing.
Someday when the earth is covered
we’ll dig and sweat while children preach
because we’ll all have forgotten
what exactly is underneath

You’ve been silent all these years but the fire’s in your eyes while I’ve been rambling on and on you’ve been learning how to hide but now there’s big wigs at the table and somebody said call-

I know I can pull the trigger, but do I really want it all?

I don’t need stuff, but I like the stuff inside you.
All kinds of love, are like wilderness to climb through.
I’m holding on but there’s so much crap to cling to…
The good stuff’s in there too.

Sometimes I’m just a fuzzy object
dirty and busting out my seams
so I trade bits of my stuffing
for color crayons and string
Use it to mask the stuff I take
to paint my poor kid dreams and weep
for looking good enough won’t stop
The Corrupt Queen of Garbage Heap

One woman’s useless trash is another’s precious treasure when you toss the frightening thought of love you also toss the pleasure and though some parts are rotting, torn, or tattered– my heart is a mandala. You can always trace the pattern.

I don’t need stuff, but I like the stuff inside you.
All kinds of love, are like wilderness to climb through.
I’m holding on but there’s so much crap to cling to…
The good stuff’s in there too.

The good stuff’s in there too.

The rest is up to you.

Leave a Reply

